Board of Directors

Incorporated in 1987, the Center for Health Policy Development (CHPD) Board of Directors is responsible for the legal and fiduciary management and oversight of the organization, which includes the non-profit National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP). NASHP is an independent academy of state health policymakers working together to identify emerging issues, develop policy solutions, and improve state health policy and practice. NASHP is led by and for state health policy officials including leaders from both the executive and legislative branches of state government.

Center for Health Policy Development – 2019 Board of Directors

Nicolette (Nikki) Highsmith Vernick, MPA
President and Chief Executive Officer
The Horizon Foundation
10480 Little Patuxent Parkway, Suite 900
Columbia, MD  21044

Immediate Past Chair
Susan Reinhard, PhD, RN
Senior Vice President
601 E Street, NW, #B6-450
Washington, DC  20049

Vice Chair
Anne Barry, JD, MPH
Senior Faculty, School of Public Health
University of Minnesota
5533 Woodlawn Blvd.
Minneapolis, MN 55417

Janette Burke, CPA
Principal, Cordia Partners
8330 Boone Blvd., Suite 350
Vienna, VA  22182

Marcia (Marci) Nielsen, PhD, MPH
PolicyPRN Consulting
1815 Foxfire Drive
Lawrence, KS 66047

John Morrison, Esq.
Senior Partner
Morrison, Sherwood, Wilson and Deola PLLP
401 North Last Chance Gulch
Helena, MT  59601

Carolyn Magill
Chief Executive Officer
Aetion, Inc.
575 7th Avenue, 20th Fl. Suite 2001
New York, NY 10018

Shannon M. McMahon, MPA
Executive Director, Medicaid Policy | Government Relations
Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc.
900 7th Street, NW, Suite 590
Washington, DC  20001

Debra Pérez, PhD
Senior Vice President of Organizational Culture, Inclusion & Equity
Simmons University
300 The Fenway, Boston, MA 02115

David Rousseau
Vice President and Executive Director of Health Policy Media and Technology and Publisher of Kaiser Health News
Kaiser Family Foundation
185 Berry St. Suite 2000
San Francisco, CA 94107

Ex Officio
MaryAnne Lindeblad, BSN, MPH
Medicaid Director
Washington State Health Care Authority
PO Box 42682, HCA
Olympia, WA 98504

Patricia (Trish) Riley
Center for Health Policy Development
Executive Director
National Academy for State Health Policy
Portland, ME  

Staff Liaison
Ellen Jean Schneiter
Chief Operating Officer
Chief Financial Officer
Center for Health Policy Development
National Academy for State Health Policy