The states featured in this chart have demonstrated how to quickly build effective retail enrollment centers. As SBMs, the Connecticut, Colorado, and Kentucky exchanges were uniquely situated to reach target populations and try dynamic, innovative outreach methods to increase enrollment. SBMs have more centralized control over multiple aspects of outreach and enrollment processes than other states because the responsibility and authority for outreach is housed within the SBM, allowing the SBM the ability to tailor communications to the unique enrollment and assistance landscape, opportunities and challenges facing that specific state.
NASHP gathered information to create this chart through key informant interviews, email queries to state officials, and research supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Enrollment 2014 project, a one year project in which NASHP interviewed state leaders and stakeholders in 10 states with early success in enrollment and supported engagement of FFM state officials in Medicaid, CHIP, and Insurance/Exchange agencies. Although the information below reflects the step-by-step considerations of building pop-up shops for outreach and enrollment into health coverage programs by SBE agencies, other state agencies may also use this model to develop retail enrollment centers for other programs. Has your state also used a retail enrollment center approach? Please let us know – we welcome information from other states with similar experience.
|State||State Exchange Structure||Number/ Location of Stores; Hours of Operation; Selection Process||Staffing||Operational Costs & Expenses||Physical Plant||Number of People Enrolled at Stores; ROI||Development Timeline|
|CO||State Agency:||Number/ Location:
1 store in Downtown Denver (Years 1 and 2) (1)Operating Hours:
M-F: 10am-6pm Sat: 12pm-6pm Closed Sunday (except on open enrollment deadline)Location Selection:
Note:Usually 4-5 workers at store
$16,000 rental$42,314 operational (furniture, wifi, signage, security, etc.)Additional Expenses:
Night security (amount not provided)
Repurposed staff laptops & work cell phones; no new equipment purchasedRetail Space:
2,000 sq. ft. 4 month lease (Nov. 1-Feb. 28)Process for Establishing:
238 enrolled1,055 assisted (not including individuals who called or were assisted but didn’t want to be tracked)ROI:
(2)$206.06 per enrollee$55 per customer assisted 2Other Benefits:
Work-plan fully developed 3 months prior to launchPhysical Plant:
Scouted physical locations 2 months prior to launch; finalized location 1 month before launchStaffing:
1 month to plan; planning began 3 months prior to launch Identified sign-up tool to fill unique shifts by brokers, navigators, and staff
Connecticut Health Insurance ExchangeExchange Name:
Quasi-public entity established bystate law
2 stores: New Haven & Hartford (Year 1)Operating Hours:
10am-8pm most daysLocation Selection:
$136,000 for both storesOperating Budget (Per Year):
$140,000 (not including staff time)
20 laptops per store (only about 15 in use at a time)Retail Space:
2,200 sq. ft each; 1-year leaseAcquisition:
Real estate agent helped survey properties/select spaceProcess for Establishing:
7,639 enrolled15,191 assistedROI:
(3)$36 per enrollment$18 per individual assistedOther Benefits:
|Planning: **Physical Plant:**Staffing: **|
|KY||State Agency:||Number/ Location:
1 store in Fayette Mall, Lexington, KY (Year 2)Operating Hours:
10am-9am (mall hours)Location Selection:
$60,000 (including reusable materials)Operating Budget (Per Year):
Note:connectors and agents used their own equipment.
1540 sq. ft.; 4 mo. lease (Nov. – Feb.)
Process for Establishing:
Worked with a marketing firm and advertisements; approached the mall about a temporary lease.
Over 5,900 enrolled7,600 visited the storeROI:
$27 per enrollment$21 per assistedOther Benefits:
2 months to plan; planning began 3 months prior to launchPhysical Plant:
1 month to install fixtures and prepare physical plant (after the design/layout was finalized); began 1 month prior to launchStaffing:
2 months of planning prior to launch; ongoing changes during first weeks of operation; by 6 weeks following launch the staffing plan was finalized
(2) ROI determined by dividing overall cost by number of people helped ($58,000/1,055=$55); however, this ROI does not reflect actual cost per person assisted given larger volume of individuals that were helped not tracked in the system.
(3) Estimated based on $276 total annual costs divided by number of individuals enrolled or assisted. Note that this does not take into account the staff time invested in developing and supporting the center.
(4) Added consumer representative role 1 month after launch, upon realizing consumers needed help at the beginning of the process to route them to the right assisters for help.